News website from Central India-Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh
Free, Fair and Fearless
Top News

Madhya Pradesh win Ranji Trophy, defeat Mumbai in the final to create history

Share this story on :
Cricket  Ranji Trophy  Madhya Pradesh  Bhopal





BHOPAL: Madhya Pradesh has created history, winning the Ranji Trophy.

This is first ever victory of the state in the premier tournament.

MP team defeated Mumbai, which has won the trophy 41 times.

In response to Mumbai's 374, Madhya Pradesh batting was extraordinary as the team scored 536 in the first innings and got a crucial lead over Mumbai. Coach Chandrakant Pandit led MP to success, 23 years after he had taken the team to final as a batsman. MP wasn't able to win the trophy then and had lost in the final. 

Madhya Pradesh were chasing a score of108 runs on the final fifth day of the match and they easily reached their target, thus clinching the trophy. Aditya Srivastava-led team played well. The opener Himanshu Mantri (37) and Shubham Sharma (30) scored initially and later Rajat Patidar remained unbeaten on 30 off 37 balls. 

[Photo courtesy: Video grab]