News website from Central India-Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh
Free, Fair and Fearless
Top News

Bhopal: Case registered against journalism university's former VC BK Kuthiala for fraud, irregularities

Share this story on :
Makhanlal Chaturvedi Rashtriya Patrakarita Vishwavidyalaya  BK Kuthiala  Bhopal  VC  RSS  BJP  Hindutva  Madhya Pradesh  EOW




BHOPAL: The Economic Offences Wing (EOW) of the state government has registered a case against BK Kuthiala, the former vice-chancellor of the Makhalal Chaturvedi Rashtriya Patrakarita Vishwavidyalaya.

Kuthiala has been booked for fraud, misappropriation and criminal conspiracy. In all, 18 persons have been booked in this case.

Prof Kuthiala is accused of large-scale corruption and giving appointments to undeserving candidates apart from taking money from the university funds for his personal use--in violation of norms.

Kuthiala, who is close to Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) was appointed the VC of the journalism university in Bhopal during Shivraj Chouhan's regime. The EOW officials say that on the basis of preliminary report submitted by a three-member committee, the case has been registered.

There are several instances of irregularities that include getting his wife to a trip to London and getting a liquor cabinet at university's expense. Also, bills of liquor consumption were reimbursed by the university. One of the biggest charges faced was that during his tenure, University was Saffronised.

From plans of cow shed to a sloganeering over construction of Ram Temple, university campus had become a fertile ground for right-wing politics. Congress had promised to take tough action and a committee was formed to look into the irregularities in the University. Now, the EOW has finally registered a case in this regard.

In all, 20 persons have been made accused.  Those booked include BK Kuthiala, Dr Anurag Seetha, Dr Pavitra Srivastava, Dr Avinash Vajpayee, Dr Arun Kumar Bhagat, Prof Sanjay Dwivedi, Dr Monika Verma, Dr Kanchan Bhatia, Dr Manoj Kumar Pacharia, Dr Arti Sarang, Dr Ranjan Singh, Surendra Pol, Dr Saurabh Malviya, Surya Prakash, Pradeep Kumar Deharia, Satendra Kumar Deharia, Gajendra Singh Avashya, Dr Kapil Raj Chandoria and Rajani Nagpal.